Fun with Fungi – Finale

A major goal of this blog is to provide personal images and text that encompass a wide array of environmental subjects. Deer and foxes are in my radar now, as are the increasingly rich landscapes of autumn. I’m ending the series on fungi with no specific theme, other than beauty. The images cover several of the major taxonomic groups of fungi, including the shelf/bracket, teeth, puffball and cup fungi. These are all late summer – early fall photos taken in Central New York, and are among my favorites.

FLT24Sept11#005E3c8x10

Hericium, in the teeth fungi group; Lion’s Mane (unofficially, I call it the icicle fungus!)

VarnishedConk13June12#032E

A Varnish Shelf Fungus on a rotting log (hemlock I believe)

Home066E

Unidentified mushroom or bolete

ArtistsFungus28Sept11#33E2c5x7

Shelf/bracket fungus

FLT021E

Puffball

WFW044E2

Shelf/bracket fungus on a rotting log

FungusAspenLog24Sept12#039E2

Yellow Fairy Cups. This tiny cup fungus has colonized the end of a 15-year-old, 12-inch diameter log (aspen).

FungusAspen5Oct12#016E2crop5x7

Yellow Fairy Cups — macro.

Photos by NB Hunter. ©  All Rights Reserved.

8 thoughts on “Fun with Fungi – Finale

    • Thanks Judith. I hope you can find it. I usually discover things when I’m not looking for them. I’ll be poking around in a woodlot, daydreaming, and surprise – there it is right in front of my nose!

    • Thanks Jo. I find them to be a real joy to photograph. I was talking to a member of a regional mycological society earlier today and hope to join a group for a mushroom hike in the future — learn from the experts!

Leave a Reply

