Ice and Open Water

MuskratOnIce076E

A muskrat on ice, eating and grooming after foraging in the shallow, open water below

A couple of windy days with temperatures near zero have me thinking about the weeks ahead. The days are noticeably longer and the sun higher in the sky, meaning the open, ice-free zones on local lakes, ponds and streams will be expanding and full of life. Many of these special places are very accessible, near walking trails and secondary roads, providing great opportunities to observe and photograph the retreat of winter.

GooseFight090E

Geese battling for rights to open water; a small flock of new arrivals was charged and driven back to the water’s edge

Mallards114E

A pair of mallards

Swan8Mar12#069E2

Mute swan at rest on ice

Swan8Mar12#100E

One of my favorite places to be in at this time of year is a ground blind just beyond the bank of a stream bordering a managed wetland. On this occasion, the water was free of ice, except for a narrow strip along shore, the sky was bright, and the place was alive with geese overhead and ducks on the water. Recent sightings of bald eagles added to my excitement and anticipation. Eventually, I spotted two mergansers, diving and feeding along, advancing upstream in my direction. I was preparing for a photo of them on the open water when, suddenly and unexpectedly, a submarine-like form appeared under the ice in front of me. Mesmerized, I just stared into the water, forgetting about the camera in front of my nose, as one of the mergansers fed along under the ice, then burst to the surface right in front of me! I failed to get that perfect action shot, the one I really wanted, but this photo keeps the memory alive!

AmerMerganser007E

Common merganser

All photos by NB Hunter, 2012

Leave a Reply

