Sidetracked

Yesterday I had a six-hour window to haul firewood from my woodlot to the house before a week of rainy weather would make the old wagon trail too soft for truck access. I had my camera on the front seat of the truck and allowed myself to get sidetracked a few times and capture a bit of the activity around me.

At this time of year, many of the wet, open places in my woodlot are dominated by a coarse, two- to five- foot tall herbaceous plant called Hellebore. (Veratum viride). It has a sturdy stalk and huge leaves but the terminal flower clusters aren’t much to look at. They’re small, yellow-green flowers that rarely seem to attract a lot of insects. Yesterday was an exception: I spotted a White Admiral butterfly working the flowers on a patch of Hellebore next to my work area and captured the moment.

WhiteAdmiralHellebore23June13#022E

White Admiral butterfly on Hellebore flowers

WhiteAdmiralHellebore23June13#030E

When turning my truck around in a damp, weedy opening, I happened to notice movement just beyond the front wheel. I had disturbed a Wood Frog (Rana sylvatica), which leaped up from the wet ground cover, landed on a stump and posed briefly for a photo. This amphibian, common in the U.S. and Canada, is easily identified by its dark mask (a “robber’s mask”). Most of my close encounters with Wood Frogs occur in early spring, when they create quite a spectacle, moving to vernal pools as soon as the ice is gone to call, breed and lay eggs.

WoodFrog23June13#004E

Wood Frog

The humid, 90-degree weather took its toll – coming down the hill to the house with my 5th load of wood, I was desperately in need of a diversion. I walked into a brushy field, hoping to catch a glimpse of the Great Crested Flycatchers feeding their young, but instead found a Song Sparrow (Melospiza melodia) perched in a Balsam Fir tree, singing. Just the break I needed!

SongSparrow22June13#091E

Song Sparrow

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

8 thoughts on “Sidetracked

    • Thanks PK! I do love this region and the year-round photo opportunities that it presents. I also feel very fortunate to have the health and knowledge to make the most of those opportunities. Recently, a friend asked “Where in the world do you take all of those wonderful photos?” I told her that most are from accessible places within an hour’s drive, and she said “WHAT?! HERE?!!!!!!”. I think there’s a lesson in there somewhere!

Leave a Reply

