“Butterflies….the essence of cool in the insect world”

My title is from the opening line of an article in the Washington Post by Darryl Fears, published in the Syracuse Post Standard, a local newspaper, on 9July13. Fears connects the health of butterfly populations with that of the environmental with alarming statistics and quotes from experts around the country. Habitat loss, pesticides and other mortality factors are decimating butterfly populations. Nineteen species and subspecies are now listed as endangered or threatened in the U.S. alone; at least one species and two subspecies are presumed to be gone. I think that means forever.

I spend a lot of time observing and photographing butterflies and feel compelled to engage in this environmental wake-up call by blogging about my butterfly experiences in the Northeast, largely New York state. July is butterfly month. I’ve see six or eight species in as many days (a lot for this area), nectaring, perching, chasing and breeding in meadows and brush lots.

BaltCheckerspot8July13#063E

Baltimore Checkerspot, perching on an unoccupied songbird nest box.

My first dedicated butterfly post features the Baltimore Checkerspot (Euphydryas phaeton), one of the more abundant and accessible species in early July.

BaltimoreLarvaValerian1E2

Baltimore Checkerspot caterpillars on Valerian (Valeriana officinalis), an alien wildflower

BaltCheckerspot30June12#024E

Baltimore Checkerspot; emergence coincides with the bloom of Knapweed (Centaurea; the pinkish glow in the background)

BaltCheckerspot7July13#100E2

Baltimore Checkerspot

BaltCheckerspot9July13#098E

A pair of Baltimore Checkerspots; they’ve just perched together following an aerial chase/courtship and are about to mate

BaltCheckerspot9July13#122E

Baltimore Checkerspots, mating

Turtlehead16Aug11#015E3

Turtlehead (Snapdragon family; Chelone glabra); wetland wildflower; preferred species for adult egg-laying and caterpillar feeding.

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

7 thoughts on ““Butterflies….the essence of cool in the insect world”

  1. Nick, these may be your best photos yet. They are breathtaking! Your skills are wonderful and your passion for nature and the need for its preservation are so admirable. I would really love to share your blog link on my Facebook page but I want to ask permission first. I would do so to the beauty of your photographs and your message to love and take care of the natural world.

    • Thanks for the very thoughtful and kind comments. Timing was superb! I have retreated from Facebook. But I’m also frustrated over my weak readership/following. I realize that I have much to learn and do with regard to marketing if I ever hope to get my work and my message out there. So go for it. Why not.

Leave a Reply

