Perpetual Motion – the Giant Swallowtail!

Twice in the last three years something exotic has unexpectedly fluttered into my life, teased me for a minute or two, and then floated up and away over the tree tops. In each case I was relaxing in a lawn chair on a warm August afternoon, and in both instances I bolted into the house to get my camera and prepare for the digital capture of a subject that was moving constantly and erratically, wings blurred by rapid, perpetual motion.

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#109E2

If you live in the Deep South you will probably get a good laugh from this post, or quickly leave to search for something more interesting. The visitor was a Giant Swallowtail butterfly (Papilio cresphontes), a species that is quite common in the South but unfamiliar to most northerners.  I’ve been chasing butterflies since old enough to walk but had never seen, or heard of, this species until 2011. Soon after that initial encounter, it was featured in the August, 2011 issue of the New York State Conservationist magazine in an article by Terry Mosher : “Swallowtail Surprise”. An older field guide to eastern butterflies lists my location in central New York as the extreme northern fringe of the range of this butterfly but sightings have increased throughout the Northeast in recent years. Climate change is no doubt an influencing factor in this trend. I’m also suspicious that “snow birds” – the millions of humans that migrate North to South in the winter – might have something to do with the distribution of the species.

Surprisingly, the Giant Swallowtail ranges far beyond the flower gardens, pine flats and Citrus groves of the South, occurring from southeastern Canada to South America. Adults nectar on many flowering plants, including Goldenrod and Phlox in the Northeast. The caterpillars (called “orangedogs” in the South) love plants in the Citrus family (in some cases to the point of being a pest), but also feed on a thicket-forming shrub found in this region: Northern Prickly-ash.

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#143E2

The nectaring flight pattern of a Giant Swallowtail is mesmerizing: flight movement is slow, but the wings, particularly the forewings, flutter constantly and rapidly as it bounces, hops and darts from flower to flower. The only pauses in rapid wing motion – mere fractions of a second – occur first when the butterfly is nectaring and again between flower visits.

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#156E2

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#104E

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#144E

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#086E2

Appropriately named, the Giant Swallowtail is among the largest butterflies in North America (some claim it’s the largest), with a wing span of about 6 inches (noticeably larger than the familiar Tiger Swallowtail).

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#138E

GiantSwallowtailPhlox12Aug13#113E

“When we try to pick out anything by itself, we find it hitched to everything else in the universe.”          –  John Muir

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

 

16 thoughts on “Perpetual Motion – the Giant Swallowtail!

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog. I too am a nature enthusiast, and love taking nature walks myself with my camera. I photograph a lot of birds and insects and very much admire your work and knowledge. Most of the birds I shoot are over-wintering in our area, but I do enjoy the hummingbirds and marsh birds of summer. I like your blog header because I too like the Canada geese, where many do not. I have followed your blog.

    I saw you photographed an elk. The guy I work with has a farm and has two elk on his property. They are not very pleasant creatures unfortunately, and I never get very close to them, but they are fun to watch.

    You have wonderful captures of the Giant Swallowtail. I am in Western NY and will have to wait and see if seasonal warming pushes it westward. I also believe that changing temperatures are moving insects and birds North of their range. It is happening to plants as well. The problem is that the movement of plants and animals is not necessarily coinciding. That throws off the balance for feeding cycles. I wrote on this a long time ago and it is worth investigating to see what science has found most recently. We see it, but they record/analyze it.

    • Thanks Calee. Everything was fast and furious and I only had about a minute at most to shoot, so I had to work with my initial camera settings. Would love to have another chance, more time and an opportunity to experiment (e.g. higher ISO) —hope I don’t have to wait another year or two!!! 🙂

    • Every now and then you capture something that just has to be shared. Posting the images and thoughts accomplishes that, and nice compliments like yours are the icing on the cake!

Leave a Reply

