Fun with Fungi – Episode 1

The weather is warm and wet – a great time to explore the world of fruiting bodies! I started slowing down to examine and appreciate the fruiting structures of fungi several years ago, while hiking sections of the Finger Lakes Trail in Central New York. My hiking partner was interested, and it didn’t take much convincing for me to follow suit. I’ve invested in several good references – Mushrooms Demystified by Arora and Mushrooms of West Virginia and the Central Appalachians by Roody are top shelf – but have yet to get much beyond a very general understanding of the subjects I’m photographing. If I were to gather mushrooms to flavor the evening meal, it would probably be a “last supper”!

“Identification, after all, is not an end in itself, but a means toward acquiring a deeper knowledge and keener appreciation of our co-inhabitants on this planet.”                                                                   – Arora in Mushrooms Demystified

My initial post on the subject features the fungi with reproductive structures characterized by a distinct cap and stalk – mushrooms.

Home075E2

MushroomAndMoss15June13#025E2

NSUA072E

Home060E3

Yes, slugs love mushrooms! Fungi are also eaten by many insects and mammals, including deer, squirrels and chipmunks. Recently, I watched a fawn grazing on mushrooms (the deer that I featured in “The Orphan” on 9/8/13) and wondered about its innate ability to be selective.

FLT040E3

NSUA063E2

“Mushrooms…are miracles – miracles which we can explain but not fully comprehend.” Arora in Mushrooms Demystified

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “Fun with Fungi – Episode 1

    • Glad you liked them. I’m in between seasons and needed a project. Have been wanting to do this for some time now, but kept putting it off because I wanted to learn more before going public. I then came to the realization that I would never know enough and might as well take the leap. Thanks for the nice comment!!

  1. Utterly beautiful presentation of some amazing subjects. Please don’t put off posting. Let us learn right along with you! That holds true whether you were referring to your subjects or the photography. You’ve definitely inspired me to put a bit more effort into crawling around on the forest floor. 😉

    • Thanks Gunta. That’s one of the most meaningful comments to come my way since I drifted into the blogosphere without a parachute! By the way, the author that I quoted is in California and referred to the forests of the Pac NW as a goldmine for mycologists, so you must tear yourself away from that gorgeous coast on occasion and get down and dirty!

Leave a Reply

