Fun with Fungi – II

I was invited to join a hiking group for a day on the Finger Lakes Trail in Central New York and promised to post some trip highlights. I’m not a regular distance hiker so, with a 5-hour hike ahead of me, I decided to travel light. I regretted that decision about 5 minutes into the adventure. There was a photo opportunity at every bend in the trail, but the forecast for a bright, clear day was dead wrong. It was overcast and misty and I really regretted not having my good macro and a real tripod in my pack.

RedEft14Sept13#065E

Red Eft, land form of the Red-spotted Newt

The group, including the Outdoor Recreation Club from Morrisville State College and the Bullthistle Hiking Club, was interested in all things natural, but the theme of the hike was the overwhelming variety and abundance of fruiting bodies!

JelleyFungus14Sept13#024Ec5x7

Jelly Fungus

CrowntippedCoral14Sept13#018Ec8x10

Coral Fungus (Crown-tipped)

OrangeSpindleCoral14Sept13#016E

Coral Fungus (Orange Spindle)

LittleRedID14Sept13#020E

Mushroom, unidentified

ChickenOfTheWoods14Sept13#085E2

Chicken-of-the-woods

ChickenOfTheWoods14Sept13#082E3c8x10

Chicken-of-the-woods

CrestedCoral14Sept13#059Ec8x10

Coral Fungus (Crested)

I’ll finish the post with this image because it was new to me, the color is quite unusual, and — the common name begs to be published!

GreenheadedJellyClub14Sept13#035Ec5x7

Green-headed Jelly Club

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

10 thoughts on “Fun with Fungi – II

  1. Amazing colors. That’ll teach you to leave the camera gear behind! You managed to capture some magnificent color without turning to the usual show of fall colors in the trees. Looking forward to seeing more.

    • Thanks. A few tree/shrub leaves are falling, a few changing color, but we’re still two-three weeks from peak foliage color. The fields and meadows on the other hand are peaking, and I’m laying the foundation for a white-tail deer post with that as a backdrop.

  2. Amazing pictures. The hike was great and we saw so many interesting colors. It is a great year for a fungus. You captured them with such color even without your tripod. Fantastic shots. And these are just the ones of fungus, I am sure you have many more great pictures from the hike. The last picture, is that the actual name – green headed jelly club?

    • Glad you enjoyed this subject because I think it’s an opportunity that is overlooked by many. No, I haven’t seen witches’ butter lately. As you have probably discovered, the fungi are really mysterious and unpredictable in their occurrence. I never know what to expect and rarely have repeat sightings in the same location!

  3. Nick,

    I never got the link to your blog so finally got to search for it myself. Great pics! Glad you and Laurie’s students joined us on the hike.
    I will continue to follow your blog now. Great pictures and great info as well. It’s almost like having a very knowledgable hiking partner.

    • Glad you found the site – I knew you would like some of the material, esp. the FLT post. By the way, I looked for you at the FLT exhibit on campus yesterday, hoping to chat and exchange information. Appreciate your nice comments and many thanks for following! Happy hiking!!!

    • Yes, fungi are a fascinating subject, with endless opportunities for photography. I commend you for taking a class. I’ve invested in several good references and field guides, but am still weak when it comes to species ID. A class and field studies with a real expert on the subject would be most helpful. Looking forward to your posts. Thanks for the visit and nice comments (Witches Butter images too)!!

Leave a Reply

