A Morning Ramble

AsterPanicled25Sept13#011E

Aster (Panicled)

We’ve had several days of nice weather and I decided that a mid-morning walk should be priority number one. I failed to get a picture of Catbirds feeding on the berry-like fruits of viburnums, dogwoods and Multiflora Rose, but came away with a few shots worth sharing.

DoeApples25Sept13#023Ec8x10

Mature doe feeding on wild apples; her two fawns are nearby

FawnApples25Sept13#025E

One of the doe’s fawns; has just spotted me

FawnScenting25Sept13#032E2

Not satisfied with the visual, it’s trying to pick up my scent

FawnScenting25Sept13#033E

I’m close, but downwind, which requires a pretty serious evaluation with the olfactory senses

RedosierDogwoodLeaf25Sept13#006E

Leaf of Red-osier Dogwood

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

9 thoughts on “A Morning Ramble

  1. Another set of wonderful pictures!! And again the leaf/light/bokeh in the last one is gorgeous! 🙂 I was taking pictures of deers the other day too, but I don’t think it’s the same kind of deer, and I didn’t get as nice closeup pictures of them as you did. But I will post anyway, next one will show a Deer in Distance.. 😉

  2. Reblogged this on per mare… and commented:
    Love these shots especially the fawn eyeing you off. I’d say it’s picked up your scent but is trying to ascertain if you are a danger…if it considers that you are it will run away. Thanks for sharing such beauty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

