Morning Sun

A quick, mid-morning trip to a nearby marsh proved to be both relaxing and fruitful: photos of something old and something new, in solitude. Once there, I was wishing for more time and warmer field clothes.

En route, I spotted several Turkey Vultures perched high in a deciduous tree, blackish silhouettes positioned between me and the bright morning sun.  The day was warming up quickly and they were growing restless on their perches. Within a few minutes they soared overhead, disappearing high over the swamps and fields to the west.

Vulture10Apr14#042Ec8x10

I was headed for the marsh and ponds where the wild Mute Swan resides. I found it in an old beaver dam pool, feeding, preening and patrolling.

Swan10Apr14#055Ec5x7

The swan eventually disappeared downstream, walking up over the abandoned beaver dam and slipping into the flooded cattails and pools below. Three Ring-necked Ducks soon appeared along the cattails, two males and a female.

RNDuck10Apr14#064E2

My field trip ended on a good note ….

SongSparrow3Apr14#085E2c8x10

Song Sparrow

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “Morning Sun

Leave a comment