Spring Colors in Macro

Many of the early spring wildflowers can be found on short walks in woodland habitats where soils are reasonably moist, fertile and undisturbed.

In this immediate area, the Bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis) bloom has peaked, Trout Lily (Erythronium americanum) is approaching full bloom, and the flower buds of Red Trillium (Trillium erectum) are just starting to open. The vivid colors of these species are a welcome contrast to our extended period of overcast skies and cool, rainy weather!

TroutLily1May14#033Ec8x10

Trout Lily 1May2014

Bloodroot3May14#018E2c8x10

Bloodroot 3May2014

TroutLily1May14#036E2c8x10

Trout Lily 1May2014

Bloodroot1May14#052E2c5x7

Bloodroot 1May2014

TrilliumRed3May14#032Ec5x7

Red Trillium 3May14

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

8 thoughts on “Spring Colors in Macro

  1. The red Trillium had me sucking in my breath….. I’ve never seen a red one. We have some rather rare and small white ones here. I am utterly astounded at yours!

    • Thanks Jo. I’m still shooting the Red Trillium – did another post yesterday. It’s not all that common and is a favorite of many, so I’m going to stick with it until the bloom deteriorates.

  2. I love the spring wildflowers. When I lived on a few acres of woodland I would spend so much time looking for and studying the wildflowers in April. (spring is late this year). I would take many pictures and knew where all of the plants were. I also enjoy wood anemone, hepatica (both types of lobes), wild or canadian ginger, twin leaf, spring beauties, and many more; some of which appeared later in spring. I love trout lilies which are also called dog tooth violets.
    This weekend while hiking through my old stomping grounds, we met up with someone who was finding and collecting morels. Yum.

    • Glad you shared those experiences, which mirror many of my own on my current property, as well as some local haunts or “hot spots”. I’ve never eaten morels, but know they have quite a reputation and are highly sought after. Glad you enjoyed the post!

    • Thanks MJF! The low pressure system finally moved on and I was able to capture those species in better light, which I posted yesterday. Fun! Appreciate the visit and comments.

Leave a Reply

