Discovery Walks

One of my favorite things to do in spring is to grab some field gear and walk, slowly and without purpose. It’s exhilarating, the vivid colors, species richness and animal activities teasing all of the senses. A purpose may materialize around the next bend in the trail, or not. The anticipation alone is a recreational high. And the rewards invariably appear.

GCFlycatcher25may13#005E

Great Crested Flycatcher, nest-building

MidlandPaintedTurtle14May14#023Ec5x7

Midland Painted Turtle; searching for a wetland habitat

BlueWingedWarbler19May14#050Ec8x10

Blue-winged Warbler, foraging for insects in a wild apple tree

WoodFrog13May14#014E2c5x7

Wood Frog in a moist, poorly drained woodland habitat

Raven18May14#021Ec5x7

Raven

RedOakLvsFls18ay14#077Ec8x10

Flowers and developing leaves of a mature Red Oak tree

BaltOriole19May14#053Ec5x7

Baltimore Oriole, male, foraging on insects (possibly nectar too) on a wild apple tree in full bloom

ButtonBuck17May14#033E2c8x10

11-month-old white-tailed deer, buck, browsing on the new foliage of woody plants

DoeFawn13May14#035E2c8x10

The mother of the young buck, feeding on the new leaves of Sugar Maple

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

10 thoughts on “Discovery Walks

  1. Awesome Nick! I was going to comment on the first one, but as I scrolled down, all of them were incredible! Great photography!

    • Thank you!! After several solo walks over as many days, the images started begging for an audience and I had to post them. All were within a half mile of home, and the presentation sequence more or less duplicated the actual field encounters.

  2. I’ll go with ‘awesome’ too. It strikes me that you have far more diversity back east. Out here it’s mostly conifers and the dreaded tree farms (the tree equivalent to mowed lawns).

  3. These photos are fantastic….thanks for sending them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think the warbler is my personal favorite! Linda

    On Mon, May 19, 2014 at 9:49 PM, Nick’s Nature Pics wrote:

    > Nick Hunter posted: “One of my favorite things to do in spring is to > grab some field gear and walk, slowly and without purpose. It’s > exhilarating, the vivid colors, species richness and animal > activities teasing all of the senses. A purpose may materialize around the > next ben”

    • Good to hear from you Linda. I wish you could see the ones that got away. I managed just 4 pics of the warbler before it disappeared. Working a tiny object in perpetual motion, at the extreme limit of my lens, is a real crap shoot for me. In the 2 sharpest photos, its head was behind a twig. The photo with the pose to die for was….out of focus. !@#$%^&*! Always appreciate your visits and supporting comments. Very motivating!!!

  4. I saw my first great created flycatcher a couple of years ago and I was thrilled! They’re such beautiful birds and you captured an amazing photo! I love your other ones as well, but that one is probably my favorite. 🙂

    • Thanks Angela. They have been nesting here for several years now, choosing one specific “bluebird” nest box – the one that had the original 1.5 inch opening enlarged by red squirrels. I have many photos but the one in the post is my favorite too. I just took a couple more shots today and might include one in my next post.

Leave a Reply

