Blue Dashers

Dragonflies have much in common with birds, including flight, insect predation and sexual dimorphism. This post illustrates the latter. The male and female Blue Dasher dragonflies (Pachydiplax longipennis) are so different in their markings and coloration that they can easily be mistaken for separate species (I can’t go public with the number of times I’ve done that!).

I posted an image of the male yesterday and will include another, along with a female, to provide a striking example of sexual dimorphism.

BlueDasher3July14#027E2c8x10

Blue Dasher, female

BlueDasher12July13#062E

Blue Dasher, male

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

 

6 thoughts on “Blue Dashers

  1. Hi….your blue dashers are awesome!!!!!!!!!! I was wondering if you are seeing any green herons? Either adults or young? They used to perch on a dead tree behind the house, and that is no longer available. Miss them too! Linda

    On Fri, Jul 4, 2014 at 8:29 PM, Nick’s Nature Pics wrote:

    > Nick Hunter posted: “Dragonflies have much in common with birds, > including flight, insect predation and sexual dimorphism. This post > illustrates the latter. The male and female Blue Dasher dragonflies > (Pachydiplax longipennis) are so different in their markings and > coloration”

    • Hi Linda. Green Herons are on my short list and I have 3 areas in mind. I usually see them along the brook circa the aquaculture center and nature trail but nothing this year to date. My last good encounter was Rogers Environ. Ed. Center last summer. Hope to find something soon and get a good photo story. Catbirds are nesting in the brush near my raspberry patch and I was playing hide and seek with them this morning. 🙂

  2. Your dasher photos are wonderful. I too noticed how different the male and female dashers are to each other. I almost got a dragonfly grabbing dinner, but the lens on it may have given it second thoughts. A small insect was flying right over its head. I don’t think I posted that one, can’t remember.

    • A couple of years ago I was at the edge of a small stream watching a bunch of jewelwings performing courtship rituals. One landed on a twig and while I had it in my sights it zipped into the air, then back to the twig – with what I think was a mosquito. I got a picture…but it’s one where you had to be there to appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

