Mammal Mysteries

I spotted this Gray Squirrel scampering along the edge of a swamp, a considerable distance from the nearest corn field (and no standing corn that I’m aware of). When I stopped the truck, it ran up into a large Black Willow tree and “hid” on top of a limb, still clutching its prized possession. After 5 months of wildlife foraging, I believe it would take me forever to find an ear of corn in a farm field. Was this a secret stash, buried last fall? or was it simply concealed under the deep, persistent snow cover?

GraySquirrel10Apr15#055Ec8x10

I have a welded wire fence around my tree seedling nursery. The openings are 2 inches wide x 4 inches high. This morning, I discovered this plump, mature Cottontail inside, then watched her pop through one of the openings after I harassed her with a photo shoot. How did she do that?

Bunny11Apr15#004Ec8x10

Bunny11Apr15#001Ec8x10

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “Mammal Mysteries

Leave a Reply

