Green Heron in Morning Light

The universal challenges of distance and light can be especially difficult when photographing wetland wildlife on foot. Moving to a better position to close the gap or improve the lighting is usually not an option. When I find myself in this predicament, which is often, I usually try to make the most of it. I hope for something good, but expect nothing.

Such was the case with this Green Heron, discovered while walking along the edge of a swampy pond in order to set up for a muskrat photo.

Little Green Heron in bright morning light

Photo by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “Green Heron in Morning Light

  1. This is an interesting photo…The sparkling dots of morning light look like jewels—but the heron seems unaware of this–the frog or fish it is looking for seems to have it preoccupied. Nice shot…

  2. Perhaps a kayak would be worth a try. I’m finding that critters are far less threatened by a human in a kayak. Haven’t quite figured out why, but they aren’t as nervous or skitterish as when a human approaches on foot. I’ve heard other folks mention this and I’m also finding it to be true.

    • Yes, definitely – on the larger wetlands where there’s room to maneuver. Animals are conditioned to accept or tolerate “vehicles” as relatively nonthreatening curiosities or annoyances so I’m not surprised. My truck is the best blind I own. Have had deer walk toward me when I stop on my lawn tractor to watch them. Must include horses in the “vehicle” category too – a friend sees all sorts of wild critters at point blank range while riding. Thanks Gunta.

    • Much appreciated! Very glad to hear that I’m not alone in my reaction to the lighting. My only problem with the sparkling aquatic vegetation is its resemblance to snow, a word that can get you tarred, feathered and run out of town in this neck of the woods!

Leave a Reply

