Monarch Habitat: Milkweed

A fringe benefit of autumn leaf peeping is the discovery of other natural phenomena and photo opportunities. When setting up for the landscape scene in my last post, I couldn’t help but notice the white gobs of milkweed seeds along the untidy fencerow in front of me. Prime Monarch butterfly habitat! Still attached to the opened pods, the tethered masses of seeds were waving and fluttering like flags in the stiff breeze.

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

11 thoughts on “Monarch Habitat: Milkweed

  1. I did picture you prone while taking those shots with the blue background. 🙂 I vaguely remember asking you about milkweed territory last year around this time. I finally found some seed during the last trip through Eastern Oregon. I’m wondering how best to try planting them and if they’ll survive here on the coast. We shall see I suppose.

    • I don’t have a greenhouse so I’m trying to propagate some milkweed in a garden plot. The seed must be cold-stratified so I sowed them in a bed of bare soil and covered them with mulch. If the chipmunks, squirrels and voles don’t eat everything, I should see a few plants in the spring.

      • I’m thinking our winters are mild enough to scatter seed and hope it’ll survive the winter. I’ll try the same method you suggested. See what happens.

    • “Wispy” says it all. So true. I just learned something about their wispy look too. I gathered a handful of wet pods this morning, removed the soggy clumps of seed and placed them between 2 screens to dry in the sun while I prepared a seed bed. Half an hour later I removed the top screen and they were all fluffy and wispy and taking flight! Needless to say, I lost a few in the planting process and was left wondering what they’re made of and how they dried so quickly..

Leave a Reply

