Eagle in the Mist

I’ve visited and blogged the “deer carcass on ice” site for three consecutive days now. The first visit was a career highlight. Yesterday I was a little reckless in my approach and spooked a juvenile eagle off the carcass. (before leaving, I photographed a lake shore scene, choosing a subject that couldn’t run or fly away from me; there’s something to be said for a still life!).

This morning I enlisted the help of Mother Nature in my effort to outwit wary eagles. I arrived mid morning, concealed in a blanket of dense, low fog. The scene was lovely, serene, dreamy, but  I couldn’t see anything beyond the immediate foreground.

The fog was rolling along quickly with a westerly breeze, and soon began to dissipate. I didn’t know it at the time, but the darkish spot in the fog layer, left of center, would command my undivided attention for the next 30 minutes.

EagleFog10Mar16#6603E2c4x6

As the fog lifted, an eagle appeared in the mist. A juvenile Bald Eagle.

EagleFog10Mar16#6687E2c5x7

EagleFog10Mar16#6639E5c5x7

EagleFog10Mar16#6659E2c5x7

EagleFog10Mar16#6660E3c8x10

EagleFog10Mar16#6668E6c5x7

I had 30 minutes of quality time with this bird before another vehicle pulled in to the lake access area. Too much disturbance. The party was over.

EagleFog10Mar16#6691E2c4x6

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

7 thoughts on “Eagle in the Mist

    • Thanks! i ask myself the same question everytime I’m on site. At this location, there are several possibilities. Maybe it was hit by a vehicle and died on the lake. There are seasonal camps around a portion of the lake and it’s also possible someone found a road kill and hauled it onto the ice to feed/observe critters. Will let you know if I find the answer!

Leave a Reply

