National Arbor Day 2016

In the Spring season my arboriculture activities tend to be a function of the weather: I prefer to prune trees when it’s cold, before the sap flows, and plant trees when the soil is “workable”. These types of activities are officially recognized and celebrated on National Arbor Day, which is the last Friday in April in this geographic region.

This year my “poster tree” for Arbor Day is a massive, open grown sycamore. American Sycamore grows naturally in flood plains and bottomlands. It, and numerous cultivars and hybrids, are also cultivated in landscapes where there is sufficient space for a very large, deciduous tree.

 

Sycamore27Apr16#9599E5c5x7

Photo by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

5 thoughts on “National Arbor Day 2016

  1. I’m wishing I had the talent and/or expertise to know how to transplant my favorite gravenstein apple tree to the new house. I bet it’s going to have one fantastic harvest this year since all the fruit trees appear to be going bonkers. I may creep over in the dead of night to snatch a few apples.

    Love your shot of the Sycamore. I don’t think we have them out west? Or i’m just not paying attention?

    • Apple trees tend to have deep tap roots, which makes transplanting difficult and risky. I’m fond of some wild apple trees on the property – one because the apples persist well into winter and feed critters, the other because it has a showy bloom. I’ve grafted these onto seedling root stock, with modest success. That’s an option.

      • Grafting was actually what I had in mind, but couldn’t think of the word. Transplanting would be out of the question since the trees I had were ANCIENT ones. Huge! They didn’t produce a lot in bad years, but when they did, the harvest was overwhelming and the apples were always the best. The deer loved them, too! 😉

        Some Johnny Appleseed must have planted mobs of these old Gravensteins since they seem to be in so many places in several communities around here.

    • My photo didn’t do it justice in terms of size. This one is about 3 feet in diameter and is old enough to have developed the beautiful crown and branch scaffolding characteristic of open grown specimens.

Leave a Reply

