A Beauty Cloaked in Velvet

While picking berries the other day, I was pleasantly surprised by the erratic flight of a Mourning Cloak butterfly. I don’t see this species often, and when I do I’m usually unprepared. They rarely feed on flower nectar, preferring tree sap and other sources of nourishment.

The butterfly darted up and around my shed, in the direction of the firewood pile. It was the first warm, sunny morning following several days of overcast skies and drizzle, so I wasn’t surprised to find it perched on a piece of wood, absorbing the warmth of the morning sun with its dark cloak. Damaged, but still a head-turner!

MourningCloak2Aug16#2943E2c8x10

Photo by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

5 thoughts on “A Beauty Cloaked in Velvet

    • Keep your eyes open. They should be feeding before hibernation – tree sap (I think oak trees are a favorite), rotting fruit, liquids in dung/carcasses. I rarely see them feeding. They just appear out of the blue, mostly wooded areas near water.

      • Given their coloration and choice of feed, I bet they’re not easy to spot. I will most definitely be on the lookout! 😀

Leave a Reply

