Goldenrod Meadows and Summer’s End

HoneyBee3Sept16#4673E2c8x10

Goldenrod honey in the making

WhiteAdmiral1Sept16#4456E2c8x10

White Admiral

CabbageWhites10Aug16#3484E3c8x10

Cabbage Whites planning ahead

SpiderCabbageWhite3Sept16#4616E2c8x10

A Cabbage White butterfly caught in the web of life; one of two

SpiderCabbageWhite3Sept16#4617E4c8x10

Monarch2Sept16#4551E2c8x10

Monarchs: a species at risk; one of two

Monarch2Sept16#4567E2c8x10

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

9 thoughts on “Goldenrod Meadows and Summer’s End

  1. As I type this, a smallish spider is enjoying a meal of a largish fly in my window sill, and I am feeling smug 🙂 Are White Admirals common where you live? I’ve never seen one. As always, I thoroughly enjoyed your photos.

    • Like your spider musings! This photo doesn’t do the white admiral justice. The wings are weathered and a little ragged. The white admiral, red-spotted purple (argument over whether they are 1 or 2 species) and hybrids occur in deciduous forests and edges in eastern U.S. and into Canada. I’ve read some of your work and you mention not seeing butterflies in recent years on your walks. My last good butterfly season was 2012: I was tripping over Red Admirals, Baltimore Checkerspots and several other species: something exciting on every walk. Now I rarely see anything (Cabbage Whites excluded). Very alarming. BTW- I’ve done some major posts on butterflies that might interest you as art subjects. The search box above my header should lead you in the right direction. Thanks for the visit Melissa.

    • Thanks Pete. We still have a variety of asters and Joe-Pye-weed coming on (all good insect magnets) but goldenrods are the big show that signals season’s end. That said, there’s a chill in the morning air that was the real catalyst for this post!

      • You are welcome, Nick. My golden rod has completely faded now, and yes, there is a chill in the morning air here also. Autumn fast approaches, and brings its own beauty.

  2. Now that you mention it, I’m seeing far less butterflies and dragon or damsel flies in my yard, too. The house down south had quite a few for awhile, but they seem to have disappeared these last few weeks. A cycle I’m perhaps not aware of.

    Funny how we both posted a spider’s meal here lately.

    • I liked your photo and was pleased to see that you discovered the flower spider. I never ceased to be amazed at their ability to immobilize large prey. I have many pics, including Tiger Swallowtail butterfly and hummingbird moth kills…the toxin must be incredibly powerful and fast-acting.

Leave a Reply

