Monarchs in Motion

Warm sunny days are fueling carpets of wildflowers in abandoned fields. Nectaring butterflies – monarchs, painted ladys and others – complete the scene as they dart, flutter and glide about in a continuous and purposeful manner. It all seems right. And September is a wonderful time of year to be alive.

Monarch21Sept17#3991E7c3x5

Monarch19Sept17#3758E5c8x10

Monarch21Sept17#3954E2c8x10

Monarch21Sept17#3986E2c8x10

Monarch19Sept17#3797E5c8x10

Monarch23Sept17#4201E2c8x10

Monarch23Sept17#4202E5c4x6

Monarch24Sept17#4246E2c8x10

Monarch24Sept17#4248E2c3x5

Photos by NB Hunter (September, 2017). © All Rights Reserved.

30 thoughts on “Monarchs in Motion

    • Thanks Mary. This was a challenge for me, much like shooting birds in flight, but I enjoyed the intimate connection with butterflies in natural settings and was thrilled with the results.

    • Much appreciated Anne. I usually try to include “favorites” in a post but sometimes agonize over the process. My goal here was to keep it simple, post my favorite 5 images. Couldn’t do it! 🙂

  1. Lovely shots, Nick! So good to see them. I didn’t see any Monarchs this year. Last year only one. The year before that only 2. I used to see them all the time. Trying to find Milkweed strains that grow around here. Thanks for delightful sights.

    • I’ve been chasing butterflies for as long as I can remember but remain mystified by the fluctuation in abundance for most species. This is the first time in 10 or 15 years that I’ve seen monarchs on a daily basis. I’ll soon publish a post on the Painted Lady butterfly because they’re all over the place, sometimes 2 to a flower. Prior to this year I was excited over one or two sightings…a year. Back to monarchs: many of us are planting milkweed (I use root stock rather than seed) and having success – don’t give up!

  2. Absolutely stunning photos Nick! The ones that are fixed mid-flight are fantastic!
    I finally got my first Monarch photo last week and was so excited to find one of these glorious butterflies, that sat still just long enough for a photo! I could honestly watch them all day and not get bored in the slightest.

  3. Nice photos. I like the ones with the asters in the sky. I did not see too many monarchs this year. But I did see a lot of American Lady Butterflys. I always like seeing how monarchs fly from Northeast to Southwest.

  4. I’ll just add to the praise of your gorgeous images! They are truly wonderful. September is truly wonderful. Pity it’s almost over, but then comes the developing storms of October. Life is good! 😀

    • A voice from the past! Good to hear from you again. Always enjoy and appreciate your feedback (posts too). For me, the key difference between bif birds and butterflies is distance. Most of my bird photographs must be cropped significantly, which leads to quality control issues. Not the case with butterflies, which is refreshing.

Leave a Reply

