Wild Apple Tree Bloom

The wild apple trees are in full bloom and attracting the attention of even casual observers during rush hour. With rain and the possibility of thunderstorms in the forecast, I decided to seize the moment and create some memories before the blossoms become airborne.

WildApple20May14#065Ec5x7

WildApple18ay14#026E2c8x10

WildApple20May14#075Ec8x10

For more photos and a more detailed natural history of our wild apple trees visit my post from last year: “It’s Apple Blossom Time!” May 17, 2013

https://nicksnaturepics.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/its-apple-blossom-time/

Photos by NB Hunter. © All Rights Reserved.

12 thoughts on “Wild Apple Tree Bloom

    • Good question. The apple group (genus Malus) includes crab apples (the only apples native to the U.S.) and domestic apples (Europe/Asia; introduced into the U.S. beginning in the late 18th century). The apple trees that I’ve featured in my posts are wild relatives of the introduced domestic apple. FYI: if you have a chance, check out my post from 2013 “It’s Apple Blossom Time!” — it was a fantastic year for blossoms — there are many photos and some detailed natural history information as well (I just added the link to yesterday’s apple blossom post).

  1. Hi Nick,
    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog and admiring your nature pics. Your photography is beautiful.

    • Oh my goodness, hi!!! What a nice surprise, and I’m thrilled to hear that you’re following – and enjoying- my rambling photo journal! I must now raise my game to another level and improve my writing! 🙂 I sincerely hope all is well. Please stay in touch. Memories of the good ‘ol days often fill the spaces.

    • It’s a fascinating topic, one that really interests me as it gains relevance over time. I find it impossible to take a black or white position on the issues of exotics and invasives. The domestic apple is a good example, the Ring-necked Pheasant another. Observing wild apples over time, as various animals utilize them throughout the seasons, including us, I can’t imagine this landscape without them.

      • Agree – fascinating and generates much robust debate. Where to draw the line? Here there are howls of outrage especially when ‘historic’ trees are felled when deemed alien. I can see the point in eradicating invasive species, but wish there was more sense in leaving the non-invasives. As with apples, the Cape it built around vineyards and viticulture going back to the 1600’s. There’re just too many contradictions in having set policy!

    • I totally agree on the fleeting nature of things, much more here than in PA. As I recall, you have ties to SE PA? I always look forward to my PA trips: a flyfishing/tent camping adventure, a trip to see family in western PA, usually a third trip for fishing and friends (And photography on all trips). One of my favorite stop-overs involves sitting on a friend’s front porch and watching 30 to 50 + hummingbirds empty a sugar water feeder. Of course I always get pics, but can’€™t do justice to the chaotic scene! Thanks for the visit

      • Ha, I know what you mean on the hummers. At my cousin’s place, the hummers were at all her feeders. Unfortunately, her property is in the woods and even with the ISO set sky high, it was still too slow a shutter speed to get them in action and boy did I try. Luckily when I came home, my feeders had them buzzing. I was just all hummered out though. I love the porches in PA. I could sit and vege for days on one. Camping and hiking is great in PA. My birding trips have been to western PA, but “home” is eastern PA. I never did fly fish, but it seems so relaxing. I do like to catch bass though! Always a release, but it is fun.

Leave a Reply

