White-tails in Summer

It seems to be much too hot to do this but in the world of White-tailed Deer life goes on; business as usual. I’m sitting in a fence row, my back to a large old Sugar Maple tree. A strip of camouflage burlap draped over a line of parachute cord provides cover. I’m downwind of a huge dairy farm and the powerful aroma of liquid cow manure masks my scent. In this setting, my only predatory weakness is the annoying click of the shutter of my camera. On a quiet evening, with deer in close, it sounds like a chainsaw.

I’m watching a field of cut hay, hoping to see deer and other wildlife; would love to have a close encounter with a fox or coyote.

Deer22July16#2398E2c5x7

Fawn22July16#2432E2c5x7

Fawn22July16#2388E2c5x7

Deer22July16#2430E2c4x6

Doe22July16#2424E2c5x7

Deer22July16#2418E2c3x5

Young doe approaching a mature doe and her fawn; submissive posture

Fawn22July16#2408E2c5x7

Buck22July16#2474E2c8x10

Yearling buck in velvet

Photos by NB Hunter. 22July2016 © All Rights Reserved.

17 thoughts on “White-tails in Summer

  1. Doesn’t your camera give you an option to turn the click off? If it’s DSLR then I think it ought to.

    Amazing backlit shots of these lovely critters. Love the third shot best with the fawn on the ‘run’.

    • Thanks Gunta. I was thrilled with the backlit shots but can’t take full creative credit. When that group of deer stopped briefly to feed I was facing a blinding evening sun. I made a rough Exp Comp adjustment and started shooting, because I could, not because I thought the results would be keepers!

  2. This from our neighbor’s on Wms Cors Rd. Second flock their have lost to this guy. I saw the back end of him once when I went over to feed their chickens. Jo

    Begin forwarded message:

    > From: Jo > Date: August 19, 2016 at 7:27:59 PM EDT > > Subject: Fwd: 9/19/2016 > > > News.. > > Begin forwarded message: > >> >> Date: August 19, 2016 at 11:35:12 AM EDT >> >> Subject: Re: 9/19/2016 >> >> We had computer problems and had to go to shop yesterday, sorry I didn’t call but am so happy all is well with you guys. Tell him to get back on his feet may need his expertise. Went to chicken house Wed morning only to discover there had been an altercation, no chickens, feathers everywhere and fiberglass window smashed out. Feathers all through their yard, etc no bodies, nothing left. We aren’t sure what happened but we are again without chickens. Then I went out to go to early morning PT only to see a chicken body laying by the gas tank decapitated. I feel like I am a very bad chicken mother all around never thought one might have survived the attack, left house and yard closed up so it couldn’t even get in to try to save itself. Tell him I will put a comfortable seat out so he can sit and pick whatever off. Steve was with our man when he loaded his little machine and says he actually saw a black what he calls a Fischer cross road from swamp side to our pond side, bold little varmit. I thought that Fischer’s were white. Rest well let me know if there is anything you guys need or want. Later >> >> >> From: Jo >> Sent: Friday, August 19, 2016 9:33 AM >> To: Judith Goodfriend >> Subject: Re: 9/19/2016 >> >> Thanks, Judi. Procedure went well. He’s all fixed. We are free of company and will rest today . Annie is a Super pet. Jo >> >>

Leave a Reply

